22-004 Timo Lassy Trio

22-004 Timo Lassy Trio

$ 31.00
Add to wishlist
saxophonist Timo Lassy, one of Finland's leading jazz artists, is back with a new album release "Trio" on We Jazz Records. The album, to be released on 27 August, introduces Lassy's new combo with bassist Ville Herrala and drummer Jaska Lukkarinen – both We Jazz Records roster artists on their own right.

The new Lassy sound is tight, swinging and funky, led by the strong and riff-ready sax of the tenorman. That being said, the album's sound is not limited to that of the swinging trio. Lassy's new vision also brings in some subtle electronics (played by Lassy, Dalindèo frontman Valtteri Laurell Pöyhönen and Ilmiliekki Quartet pianist Tuomo Prättälä) and lush strings performed by Budapest Art Orchestra as arranged by Finnish artist Marzi Nyman. It's a new sound for Lassy, but one which keeps true to his no-nonsense cookin' on the tenor.

This combination proves to be a winning one on the album, ranging from the more solemn moments on tracks such as "Sunday 20" and "Sointu" to the all out groovers like "Pumping C" and "Subtropical". The basic three sylinders of the band tenor sax, bass and drums, are strong throughout and the strings add air beneath the wings to really lift things off. Electronics are used as a tasty condiment...  more

Timo Lassy, tenor saxophone
Ville Herrala, double bass
Jaska Lukkarinen, drums

All tracks written by Timo Lassy
Produced by Timo Lassy & Abdissa Assefa
Strings arranged by Marzi Nyman, performed by Budapest Art Orchestra cond. Peter Pejtsik (1., 2., 4., 7.)
Synthesizer, keys: Tuomo Prättälä (3.), Valtteri Pöyhönen (7.), Timo Lassy (2., 5.)
Percussion: Abdissa Assefa (5.)
Recorded & Mixed by Abdissa Assefa at Ambience studios, Helsinki
Strings recorded at East Connection Music Recording, Budapest
Mastered by Svante Forsbäck at Chartmakers
Original artwork by Ilari Hautamäki: "Subtropic" (2019)
Original artwork photographed by Jussi Tiainen
Design by Matti Nives